Dr. Visit #1

September 11, 2008 michelleandchanning

Today was our first official visit to the baby doctor!  It took forever, and when it was finally over, we were all starving and exhausted. Emma and I got there at 10:15, and Channing wasn’t long behind us. I’m so thankful that he has a job, and boss, that is so flexible about his hours. I wouldn’t have made it through today if he hadn’t been there. Let’s just say that Emma wasn’t very fond of the idea of a two hour visit. It really ended up being more like three. We didn’t walk out of the place until 1 pm.  Honestly, I’m not sure why it took so long. 

I actually have not seen an M.D. yet, though I will soon. The doctor I will be seeing is new, and they are waiting on her credentials to get approved by our insurance company. For now, I’m seeing a Certified Nurse Midwife. She can do all the same things a doctor can do, just doesn’t have the M.D. by her name. Just from the few people I’ve talked to, and the research I’ve done, it’s very common for healthy women with low-risk pregnancies to see CNMs here.  It’s also good to know that she is in a clinic with four other M.D.’s in case there were a need. So far, I like her alot.  

Today was mainly all the preliminary stuff. Tons of questions about medical history, and the first pregnancy. Followed by a general exam. According to her, everything suggests a due date of April 22, 2009. That means today, I’m eight weeks and one day pregnant.  However, she scheduled me for an ultrasound next week to be sure. Channing is a little upset about that, because he won’t be able to go. We thought they would do that today. I haven’t gained any weight, but I haven’t lost any either. That in itself is good for me, because with Emma, I had already lost several pounds by this time. I can tell you that my appetite is in overdrive right now, and I don’t see the weight thing being an issue this time like it was before.  At the end, they took a large amount of blood for all the test they have to run. Emma enjoys that part the most because she likes to watch. I don’t really understand why. 

Overall, I feel fine, just worn out. Nausea has been bothersome the last couple of days, but nothing I can’t manage. I’m still trying to get rid of this sinus infection, though, which is driving me crazy.  Things around here are going well. Channing is working hard. He likes the job alot. Emma is still doing pretty good with the potty training. She’s also warming up to the idea about babies. We’ve been looking at alot of magazines, and now when she sees pictures, she talks about how the babies are sleeping.  I think she’s going to be a great big sister.  And finally, we are ready to come home! Channing will be flying out next Friday afternoon at five, and Emma and I will be leaving Saturday morning. We are so ready to be home and see everyone!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lily  |  September 13, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    So excited about the new baby! Can’t wait to see you all.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts

 
